© 2014 mrsfabian

Punctuation Checklist

images (1)Periods

check for run on sentences

Semicolons

Are used to separate two short and related sentences

both sides of the semicolon have a complete sentence

Ex: I used to love him; I still think that we could have been married.

Commas

Introductory commas are used after introductory phrases.

In the meantime, he stuffed the guns into the bag.

Parenthetical commas are used when a certain part of a sentence is extra information; either side of the paired commas must contain a complete sentence without the middle information

Ex: I’ll meet you at the mall, in front of Sharper Image, at 8 PM.

Sequential commas separate a sequence or continuing list of more than two items; a comma is used before the last conjunction when using three or more items

Ex: My dog is known for farting, sleeping, and stealing.

If a conjunction  (ex: and, or, but) is used in the middle of a sentence, and either side of the sentence is complete, then there is a comma before the conjunction.

Ex: I love to eat tacos, and I love to drink margaritas. (full sentence)

Vs: I love to eat tacos and fries.(not a full sentence)

Colons

Introduce a list or continue information.

Ex: I ask that the students do the following: finish the sub packet and respect the sub.

Ex: I like one kind of pizza: pepperoni.

Dashes

Tell the reader that the next piece of information is something you are emotional about.

Ex: My husband spends Valentine’s Day in the same place every year- the bar!

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Skip to toolbar