© 2013 mrsfabian

Working with Subtext

Tonight for homework, view this scene from Annie Hall with half the subtext filled in.

images (14)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hq-1C81OrIA&feature=related

Come to class ready to write your own brief script, loaded with sub text.

Remember our BRIEF exemplar- it does not have to be a long exchange.

RAY: Here we go, some nice peanut butter sandwiches.

Rachel looks at him spreading the sandwiches, obviously masking frustration.

RACHEL: I’m allergic to peanut butter.

Ray, surprised, continues to spread the butter.

RAY: Since when?

(Beat.)

RACHEL: Birth

Tuesday night you will post your brief script here.

Some script ideas:

I am not attracted to you.

I am interested in cheating on my partner with you.

I’m bored right now.

I wish I was somewhere else.

I’m falling in love, for sure this time.

Your breath is bad, but like everything else, you don’t notice.

You don’t seem smart to me.

I’m intimidated by how smart you are.

I’m really trying to make a good impression on you.

I’m sucking up to you, but only because you are my boss.

In class on Wednesday, I will film volunteers with their subtext cards (written on paper like subtitles) and we will upload the links under the original scripts. 

 

15 Comments

  1. daniellediperri
    Posted May 28, 2013 at 1:23 AM | #

    Sally: Heeeeeeeeeeey jake (in a girly tune)
    Jake: whats up? (as he checks her out) you look mmmm, amazing.
    Sally: Thank you, hows gina?
    Jake: well… all we do is fight, enough about me and gina, lets talk about us, long time no see huh? (as he puts his arm around sally)
    Sally: ooh, i wish you didn;t have a girlfriend…
    Jake: stop talking about her, it will just ruin the night..

    The subtext was that even though he had a girlfriend he was willing to get with sally

  2. Mikey T
    Posted May 28, 2013 at 2:10 AM | #

    Mike: I heard you’re thinking about trying out for baseball this coming season. Is that true?
    Ben: Yeah dude, I swim and play soccer, I’m an athlete so I should make the team no problem.
    Mike: No doubt, you’re an athlete.
    Ben: Wait, you’re a pretty good pitcher right Mike?
    Mike: Yeah I guess, but you’re an athlete so you could be just as good as me! Oh and you’ve never played baseball but since you’re an athlete you should make varsity just fine!

  3. amandabanks
    Posted May 28, 2013 at 3:21 PM | #

    Mark: Hey Amanda
    Amanda: Hi
    Mark: Are you doing anything later?
    Amanda: Oh, yeah I have plans.
    Mark: Oh, what type of plans?
    Amanda: Babysitting …
    Mark: Do you need help babysitting?
    Amanda: No, I’m all set. Nice talking to you ..

  4. hannahlunetta
    Posted May 28, 2013 at 3:33 PM | #

    Mark: Hey Amanda
    Amanda: Hi
    Mark: Do you have any plans tonight?
    Amanda: I have to study …
    Mark: You study too much. Why don’t you take a break?
    Amanda: No thanks … But have fun!
    Mark: Oh, okay. Maybe next time!

  5. renatapinto
    Posted May 28, 2013 at 3:42 PM | #

    Renata:Tiff lets go to the mall today! Please…
    Tiffany: Ehhh
    Renata: Please…
    Tiffany: Eh fine.
    – fitting room –
    Renata: How do I look? I love this outfit
    Tiffany: Yea sure it looks good
    Renata: Are you sure? I feel like this shirt makes me look fat
    Tiffany: Just a … no it looks fine
    Renata: Alright ill just get it

  6. chuckerahjohnson
    Posted May 28, 2013 at 6:50 PM | #

    Steph: “These are some fresh shoes, don’t you think Chuck?”
    Chuck: “Yeah…fresh”
    Steph: “So…should I get them?”
    Chuck: “Yeah if you want to look nice”
    *Steph buys the shoes*
    Steph: “you’re a great friend”
    Chuck: “I know”

  7. tiffaniwilliams
    Posted May 29, 2013 at 12:50 AM | #

    Leah: JEN! HEY!
    Jen: oh, heyy..
    Leah: WHATSUP?!
    Jen: Oh nothing much just in a rush I have a lot to do today
    Leah: Busy you just like in High school … always miss busy bee!
    Jen: Yeah of course I just really need to —
    Leah: How’s Bobby?!
    Jen: He’s doing great and hows umm Nessie?
    Leah: It’s Nico and we broke up after graduation..
    Jen: I’m sorry
    Leah: Its fine, but hey I gotta run too
    Jen: Yeah definitely–check up soon?

  8. sebastianlondono
    Posted May 29, 2013 at 1:26 AM | #

    Brian:Hey babe I miss you, do you want to chill.
    Charles: Sorry honey I can’t I’m busy today.
    Brian: Ok babe see you tomorrow at school.
    Charles: Bye hun.
    Sebastian:*walking down the street, see Charle’s house, stunned by him kissing a random girl from the window*
    Sebastian:*ran to Brain’s house, then ring the door bell*
    Brian:*open the dorr than say* “Hey Sebastian look what I got Charles, I love him so much
    Sebastian:*his face expression change from stress to nervousness and worried then say* “Yeah man hes gona love it, your the best boyfriend in the world.”

  9. stephanierizzo
    Posted May 29, 2013 at 1:27 AM | #

    Priscilla : omg I love those pants
    Chuck: yeah me too…
    Me: those are the worst choice you would make if you pay those pants…
    Priscilla : I think I’m going to get them
    Chuck: yeah you should deff get those… They are hot
    Me : are you sure they will have you size… I don’t think so…
    Priscilla : of course they will have my size steph!
    Chuck : well are you going to get them or not
    Me : don’t get them I’m trying to be a good friend and tell you the truth
    Priscilla : fine!
    Walks out of the store and the next day steph gets the pair of pants

  10. sebastianlondono
    Posted May 29, 2013 at 1:28 AM | #

    Brian:Hey babe I miss you, do you want to chill.
    Charles: Sorry honey I can’t I’m busy today.
    Brian: Ok babe see you tomorrow at school.
    Charles: Bye hun.
    Sebastian:*walking down the street, see Charle’s house, stunned by him kissing a random girl from the window*
    Sebastian:*ran to Brain’s house, then ring the door bell*
    Brian:*open the dorr than say* “Hey Sebastian look what I got Charles, I love him so much
    Sebastian:*his face expression change from stress to nervousness and worried then say* “Yeah man hes gona love it, your the best boyfriend in the world.

  11. amiraamar
    Posted May 29, 2013 at 1:44 AM | #

    Danielle : hey girl, you’ll never believe what happened! I met this cute ass kid who lives down the point !
    Amira: omg me too ! Maybe they’re friends! Omg maybe we could finally double date!
    Danielle: yea! He’s tall, light eyes, nice style, so tan, and his eye brows are better than mine!
    Amira:wait … What’s his name.
    Danielle:idk but his nickname is merrkey.
    Amira: to , call this kid up right quick.

  12. kaylahobrien
    Posted May 29, 2013 at 1:56 AM | #

    Little old couple
    Kaylah: Can we please get a puppy ?
    Jacob: why should we get a puppy?
    Kaylah: because our kids are off living their own lives and we need some youth around !
    Jacob: Alright…what kind of dog?
    Kaylah: a Husky !!!
    Jacob: Okay, i guess that’s manly enough.

  13. brianmadrigal
    Posted May 29, 2013 at 3:10 AM | #

    Headmaster: Hello (with a confused face)
    The Lombardo family: *Enter the room under dressed to meet him*
    Headmaster: I’m sorry, did you all make an appointment with my secretary?
    Mr. Lombardo: Yes, We’re the Lombardo family.
    Headmaster: oh goodness, pleasure to meet you and your family sir, please excuse me.
    Mr. Lombardo: I know this school is prestigious and I want my son to be enrolled in it as soon as possible. I’ll pay any amount of money.
    Secretary*walks in*: Excuse me sir. The Mendoza family is here. Their appointment with you is in ten minutes.
    Headmaster: Make them wait I’m attending the Lombardo family.
    Secretary:The Lombardo family never made an appointment sir.
    Headmaster: you can leave now. please.

  14. aletorres
    Posted May 29, 2013 at 10:54 AM | #

    Ale: “ Hey, how do you think you did on the AP test?”

    Anna: “ Mannnnnn, I took this class for no reason. It was the easiest test I’ve ever taken.”

    Ale: “oh that’s good. I found the multiple choice to be very hard”

    Anna: “ HAHAHAHA, you serious? “

    Ale: “yup”

    Anna: “Well, You know that Argument essay?”

    Ale: “ Yeah. I thought it went alright. I left it for last and ran out of time”

    Anna: “Psh. I did it first; I’m pretty sure I was the first one to finish out of everyone. I even had time to sleep.”

    Ale: “Um. Cool.”

    Anna: “Well, what do you think you scored overall?

    Ale: “ I hope I scored at least a two.. I don’t feel that confident about my essays.. Especially the rhetorical analysis…”

    Anna: “Oh. that sucks. It was so easy for me.”

    Ale: “ Oh yeah? Well if that’s the case, then you should be getting a perfect score right?”

    Anna: “No doubt hunny.”

    Ale: “Uh okay”

    Anna: “Alright, well I Have mad things to do, I’ll see you later.”

    Ale: “ K.”

  15. jacobmedina
    Posted June 7, 2013 at 2:31 AM | #

    Jackamo : Dex! I’m glad i caught you before you left.

    Dexter : Hey jackamo I didn’t see you there.

    Jackamo : So i have an amazing Idea and I want you to do this with me since you’re my best friend.

    Dexter : yea sure, shoot.

    Jackamo : WE SHOULD GET A HOT AIR BALLOON! GO CROSS COUNTRY AND WHEN WE FLOAT OVER EACH STATES CAPITAL WE BUNGY JUMP FROM THE HOT AIR BALLOON! IT WILL BE LEGENDARY!

    Dexter :UHH…

    Jackamo : WELL?!

    Dexter : You know what!? I totally forgot I signed up for the peace core, silly me. I can’t sorry.

    Jacokamo: Again?! God you’re a really great guy Dex.

    Dexter: Yea, well i have to go pack.

    Jackamo: see you…I guess.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Skip to toolbar